When I Was a Custom Card Designer: 2009 Twins – Part II

Posted: December 18, 2012 by Crackin' Wax in 2009, Custom Cards, GameDay Graphers, Minnesota Twins
Tags: , ,
So far I’ve given you a peek into the initial design process of the 2009 GameDay Graphers and shared with you some of the incomplete Twins cards that were designed in that set. Gather round the trash can fire, kiddies. I’m about to show you some of the fully complete and signed Twins customs from that year. It’ll be a hoot!

While you’re browsing through these cards, please feel free to torture yourself with a 4-track demo I recorded when I was still a rock star. Yes, it’s actual music. No, I’m not singing. Yes, the title is ridiculous. No, I cannot guarantee you will not die of laughter or ear trauma.


Most of these cards were signed either at the 2009 TwinsFest or the 2009 Twins Autograph Party. Others were signed TTM. Others still were inked up at later TwinsFests. Below, you’ll see some of the best autographs in the business as well as scribbles by a disgruntled player that all but ruined the card that was “signed.”

CLICK TO VIEW LARGER VERSION

SCOTT “MR. CUB” BAKER

LOS BANDITOS

“SICK” NICK BLACKBURN

CRAIG “BOOK WORM” BRESLOW

JESSE “TEAM CANADA” CRAIN

JOE “SCRIBBLES” CREDE

MICHAEL “BEST SIG IN THE BIZ” CUDDYER

R.A. “CY YOUNG” DICKEY

BRIAN “DEUCE” DUENSING

RON “GARDY” GARDENHIRE

BOB “B.K.” KEPPEL

You’ll notice that the cards printed a bit darker than the original digital files. You can also see that I worked in a “Rookie Card” graphic on one of the cards. I was also able to score my one and only dual auto, something that I’m kinda dorkishly proud of. Notice the contrast between the signatures of Michael Cuddyer and Joe Crede. Cuddy is a great guy and is fantastic to his fans. Crede was in a rotten mood when I got up to him and acted as if he had somewhere better to be than the Twins Autograph Party. He even threw my pen and card back at me. Up to that point, he was my wife’s and my favorite new Twin. You’ll also notice that most of the pitchers and a few of the position players included their jersey numbers with their sigs–one pitcher even threw in an inscription (it was a TTM–he even tossed in a hand-written note asking for a copy of the card for his collection).

The next “WIWACCD” post will feature the rest of the signed 2009 Twins GameDay Graphers. Was I able to score either of the Minnesota M’n’M boys? How many of the Twins players that signed for me are still on the 2013 squad? WAIT AND SEE!!


DON’T FORGET!

Topps ’13 S1 Jumbo Case Break Raffle There are still plenty of great teams left to choose from, such as the Angels, Blue Jays, Rangers, Red Sox and Yankees!

Leave a comment