When I Was a Custom Card Designer: 2010 GameDay – Part II

Posted: January 11, 2013 by Crackin Wax in 2010, GameDay Graphers, Minnesota Twins
Tags: ,

I suppose it’s about time I get on with this series of posts. Please feel free to catch up on Part I before proceeding.

There are subtle differences between the cards shown here and the cards shown in Part I. The most obvious difference is the advance in complexity of the light bursts behind the players. Instead of merely appearing directly behind the players, I took the extra time to make the burst envelop the players to give the illusion that the light was literally passing through and around them. Another obvious difference was the change in the “Rookie Card” designation. I decided to do away with the old “Rookie Card” graphic and placed a yellow/gold banner on the left side of the card with the words “ROOKIE SEASON” embossed into the banner.

My “home-made chroming” technique also improved quite a bit with these cards. It was much easier to pick up the purple colored iridescence on many of the cards when I photographed them at an angle.

As you can see below, there was only one autograph that I was unable to secure. The rest of the cards that I designed, however, were happily inked up. I even got an accidental thumb print on one of the cards!

CLICK TO VIEW LARGER VERSION

DENARD SPAN

SCOTT BAKER

NICK BLACKBURN

ALEX BURNETT

DREW BUTERA

PAT NESHEK

TREVOR PLOUFFE

JON RAUCH

KEVIN SLOWEY

JIM THOME

MATT TOLBERT

DANNY VALENCIA

DELMON YOUNG

Eagle-eyed viewers might have noticed that the printed version of one of the cards shown above differs from the digital representation. Apparently, that was the card that I decided to test the new light burst technique and, since the original had already been signed, did not bother with reprinting.

The next installment of WIWACCD will feature my first and only series of book cards. Some of them turned out mighty fine. After that, the final few 2010 GameDay Graphers featuring non-Twins will be displayed for your optional viewing pleasure.


CASE BREAK UPDATE
Topps’ 2013 Series 1 Baseball is coming up just around the corner and I’m going to be using it to do my first ever case break! Some of the teams were snatched up since yesterday and now I’m left with just ten teams.

…and this is the only team left with just one half slot remaining…

Sitting on the fence? Never been in a case break before? Want more information? Ready to claim your team? Get on up to the Topps ’13 S1 Jumbo case break page!

GO PACK!!

Leave a Reply

