When I Was a Custom Card Designer: 2009 Twins – Part III

Posted: December 21, 2012 by Crackin Wax in 2009, Custom Cards, GameDay Graphers, Minnesota Twins
Tags: , ,
Let’s take a step back from yesterday’s silliness and return to the daunting task of spilling out nearly every single custom designed imitation baseball card I’ve ever produced. Today, we continue on with the remainder of the good handful of GameDay Graphers that I was able to get signed by the local team, the Minnesota Twins.

As usual, I offer you a bit of self-made background noise. While it may be compared to the sounds produced by every day ordinary bodily functions, I promise you, this is not a recording of said functions. Rather, it’s me strumming a guitar in stereo sound! By the title of the song, you might guess that I was a depressed angsty teen when this track was written/recorded, but you’d be wrong. I was instead a depressed angsty 20-something still living with my mom. Pure joy in every note!


Don’t worry, I moved out the same year I committed that track to CD. I even met a girl and eventually married her!

Most of these cards were signed either at the 2009 TwinsFest or the 2009 Twins Autograph Party. Others were signed TTM. Others still were inked up at later TwinsFests. You’ll even bare witness to my very first attempt at a Memorabilia Patch card.

CLICK TO VIEW LARGER VERSION

JASON “MORE” KUBEL

JOE “THE HOLY” MAUER

JOSE “MIJA” MIJARES

JUSTIN “MOOSE” MORNEAU

JOE “THE BIG TWITCH” NATHAN

GLEN “PERKY” PERKINS

MIKE “RED DOG” REDMOND

KEVIN “SLO-MO” SLOWEY

DENARD “SPAN-MAN” SPAN

ANTHONY “SWIZ” SWARZAK

MATT “FOR WHOM THE BELL” TOLBERT

METRODOME “MEMORABILIA” PATCH CARD

Can you believe it? I actually got both Mauer AND Morneau! It wasn’t without a bit of work, mind you, but there they are. If I remember correctly, I believe the Nathan came to me through the mail (TTM). As you can likely tell, the Dome card is fairly thick. The die cut window was not, in fact, die cut. It was actually hand cut with an Xacto knife and, let me tell you, it was a pain. I’ve since found a much better and more reliable way to produce windows. Examples of those cards will eventually be shown as well.

The next “WIWACCD” post will feature the rest of the GameDay Graphers that I produced–all non-Twins, in fact. Plus, after that… GameDay OldSchool?

Today’s post was brought to you by this guy…


DON’T FORGET!

Topps ’13 S1 Jumbo Case Break Raffle One full Jumbo Box of 2013 Topps Series 1 will be given away! Get in while you can!!

Leave a Reply

