2013 Topps Baseball Preview: I Sense a Theme Here…

Posted: August 17, 2012 by Crackin Wax in 2013, Topps
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The ’13 baseball design isn’t necesarily the WORST thing I’ve ever seen–I’ll reserve judgment until I’ve seen them front and back, face-to-face. The first thing that sprung to my mind when I saw the preview this morning was that it reminded me a bit of this year’s Football. How so? The football set incorporates a football shape in its graphic elements, which many collectors (myself included) believe is a nice touch and a good deviation away from the baseball design. The following baseball set uses a baseball field design its graphic elements. See where I’m going here? I doubt this was the case, but it almost seemed as if someone at Topps thought “hey! The collectors think using sport specific graphic elements is a great idea! Let’s do it in baseball, now, too!”

Of course, this isn’t exactly the first time any company, Topps included, has ever used baseball-related elements in their designs, nor will it likely be the last.

Comments
  1. dayf says:

    I dunno, I liked the crashing zeppelin motif in this year’s design.

  2. night owl says:

    Detroit Loins?

    I think the 2013 Topps design is just below brilliant. I know no design will escape criticism, especially on the internet. But, with the exception of the foil, I think it’s pretty much untouchable.

  3. Paulie3jobs says:

    My guess is that the foil will be the downfall of the design. It’s been overdone and on some of the parallels, impossible to read.

Leave a Reply

