Mail Day: 3/15/12

Posted: March 15, 2012 by topher in 2008, autographs, Bowman, Mail Day, Minnesota Twins

Mail Day
Mail Time, Mail Time, Mail Time, MAIL TIME!!
(…thanks a lot, Blues Clues…)

Here’s the mail, it never fails. It makes me wanna wag my tail. When it comes I wanna wail… MAIL!

Ahem.

Seriously, when I saw the little manilla mailer in my little mailbox, that was the first thing that came to mind. Why do I know this song? I don’t even have any kids! Oh, those college years. They were funny years. But that’s not the real point of this particular post.

The real, actual, honest-to-goodness point is that I had a little fun on eBay for the first time in a few years. Not TOO much fun, mind you. Just enough to restart my Twins RC AU collecting engine. So, what did I get? How much cold hard cash did I spend?

DANNY LEHMANN
2008 Bowman Chrome
$2.91

Danny is currently a catcher for the Rochester Red Wings and is serving as a non-roster invitee during spring training for the Minnesota Twins. Unfortunately, being a catcher, the Twins have no real use for him at this time. Last year he barely broke the Mendozza line, batting a dismal .204 in the minors.

DANNY RAMS
2008 Bowman Chrome
$0.99

Danny, also a catcher, will be starting his sixth year in the minors since being drafted in the second round in 2007. He has yet to make it as far as AAA ball and looks to break camp with the AA Twins affiliate, the New Britain Rock Cats.

LUDOVICUS “LOEK” VAN MIL
2008 Bowman Chrome
$2.47

At an amazing 7’1″ tall, Loek (pronounced “Luke”) remains the tallest person in the minor leagues. The gangly pitcher from the Netherlands was eventually designated for assignment and then moved to the Angels organization for Brian Fuentes’ all-but-forgotten 2010 stop in Minnesota.

BRIAN DINKELMAN
2008 Bowman Chrome X-fractor (212/250)
$3.81

Brian is the only one of this group with Major League experience. He was called up in 2011 to fill in for the woeful and injury-plagued Twins. He is once again a spring training non-roster invitee and is making a major case to break camp in a utility bench role for the Twins.

TOTAL PRICE: $10.18
SHIPPING: $5.00
FINAL COST: $15.18

FINAL VERDICT
2008 Bowman Chrome, home of the rookie card, features on-card autographs–something that anyone solely collecting autographed cards really appreciates. I was able to snag cards of three players who may never make it out of the minors and a decent parallel of a player who, while he may play most of his career in AAA, has at least been to the big game and has the talent to be called-up again. I don’t believe I overpaid for any of these cards, and they are welcome additions to my small yet quickly growing collection of TWINS RC AUs.

DO YOU HAS?
I am always looking for just about any Twins RC AUs (rookie card autographs). If you have any that you’re willing to give up, PLEASE let me know! Thanks!

A clue! A clue!

Leave a Reply

